• Press Release

    June 05, 2007

    Library Of Congress Laura Campbell Honored With EMC Information Leadership Award

    Campbell Recognized During Computerworld Honors Program's 19th Annual Laureates Medal Ceremony & Gala Awards Evening in Washington, D.C

    Hopkinton, Mass. - June 05, 2007 -

    EMC Corporation (NYSE:EMC), the world leader in information infrastructure solutions, today announced that Laura Campbell of the Library of Congress received the EMC Information Leadership Award at IDG’s Computerworld Honors Program’s 19th Annual Laureates Medal Ceremony & Gala Awards Evening last night in Washington, D.C.This annual award recognizes the extraordinary achievements of selected individuals whose positive contributions to the IT revolution have left an indelible mark on the world.

    "I’m honored to receive the prestigious EMC Information Leadership Award," said Campbell, the Library’s Associate Librarian for Strategic Initiatives and Director of the National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program. "Our staff and partners have invested a tremendous amount of time and energy to preserve, digitize and make our rich heritage readily accessible for future generations and this award is recognition of our success."

    Founded in 1800, The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world with more than 134 million physical items and more than 22 million items on its various Web sites. Campbell is leading the Library’s large-scale initiative to preserve and make its universal collections available to Congress and to people globally for future generations. This program was established by the U.S. Congress as a national program to select, collect and preserve important and at-risk digital materials needed by Congress and the American people today and in the future and currently includes a collaborative network of nearly 70 partners.

    "Preservation isn’t simply about the past – it is about the future because civilization makes progress by building on what’s come before," said Michael Ruettgers, EMC’s Senior Advisor and Retired Chairman. "Laura is a pioneer in the area of acquiring, preserving and providing access to digital content in its multiple forms – books, manuscripts, recordings, photographs, maps and more. This award recognizes her inspired leadership for this program and her pursuit of creative partnerships to solve the complex challenge of preserving our shared information heritage. We’re very proud to recognize her accomplishments with the EMC Information Leadership Award."

    The flagship of the NDL Program is the American Memory Web site of more than 11 million significant items from American history that range from papers of U.S. presidents and materials relating to the founding of the nation to Civil War photographs of Mathew Brady, Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address and the papers of Frederick Douglass.

    "Each year, the Computerworld Honors Program seeks to recognize organizations, from a variety of sectors, for their ongoing efforts to utilize technology in order to benefit society," said Ron Milton, Chairman of the Board of Trustees for the Computerworld Information Technology Awards Foundation and Executive Vice President of Computerworld. "We are proud to provide a platform to publicly acknowledge these contributions."

    About Dell

    Dell EMC, a part of Dell Technologies, enables organizations to modernize, automate and transform their data center using industry-leading converged infrastructure, servers, storage and data protection technologies. This provides a trusted foundation for businesses to transform IT, through the creation of a hybrid cloud, and transform their business through the creation of cloud-native applications and big data solutions. Dell EMC services customers across 180 countries – including 98 percent of the Fortune 500 – with the industry’s most comprehensive and innovative portfolio from edge to core to cloud.

    Copyright © 2017 Dell Inc. or its subsidiaries. All Rights Reserved. Dell, EMC and other trademarks are trademarks of Dell Inc. or its subsidiaries. Other trademarks may be trademarks of their respective owners.